Blog · Agentic

Shopify Promoted Placements puts per-product commission in Catalog API search

Shopify's Promoted Placements beta now includes Shop Campaigns. Developers who surface a merchant's products through search_catalog earn commission that the merchant funds, so the commission rate now differs from product to product. This is a new paid variable in agent discovery, and Shopify has not said whether it affects ranking.

eCommerce Insights research team · · 8 min read


Merchant-funded commission now comes with search_catalog results

Shopify's developer changelog states that Promoted Placements is now in beta and now includes Shop Campaigns. Here is the practical change. A product returned by the Catalog API's search_catalog may come from a merchant running Shop Campaigns. When it does, the developer organization that surfaced it earns the commission that merchant funds, on top of Shopify's base rate. Commission on Catalog API results is no longer one platform-wide rate. The changelog says it now varies by product.

Two other facts in the entry matter more to merchants than the headline does. First, merchants running Shop Campaigns with external platforms turned on now count the Catalog API as one of those platforms. Their funded commission therefore now reaches third-party apps and agents built on search_catalog. Second, buyers who click a product with merchant-funded commission land in Shop (shop.com), not on the merchant's own storefront. The changelog does not say whether commission affects which products search_catalog returns or the order it returns them in.

The source gives no date for this change or for the start of the beta. Access is invite-led, with a waitlist linked from Shopify's docs. Earning applies only to organizations in the beta that have accepted the terms and turned on Earn commission for a saved catalog. It covers search_catalog only, and only products from Shopify merchants.

What the changelog changes, item by item

ItemPer Shopify's changelogPrior state (our inference from the wording)
Promoted Placements statusNow in beta; invite-led, with a waitlistNot stated
Shop Campaigns external platformsNow include the Catalog API"Now include" implies the Catalog API was not one of them before
placement.commission.percentage.valueReturns the total rate: merchant commission plus Shopify's base rateThe field already existed and already returned a commission
Rate variabilityVaries by product"Now varies" implies one rate applied before
Where buyers land on merchant-funded productsShop (shop.com)Not stated
Scope of earningsearch_catalog only; Shopify merchants' products onlyNot stated
Required developer actionNone statedNot applicable

The right-hand column is our reading of the changelog's wording. Shopify does not describe the previous state directly.

The entry includes two integration instructions. Developers should keep passing their enrolled catalog.catalog_id on search_catalog. They should also send buyers to the variant URL exactly as Shopify returns it. Developers who show a commission rate in their own reporting are told to read it from placement.commission.percentage.value rather than assume a single rate.

What it means for Shopify brands

For merchants, this turns a Shop Campaigns setting into a decision about AI-agent distribution. According to the changelog, if external platforms are turned on, the Catalog API is now one of them. Our read is that a brand that turned that setting on for other reasons may now be funding commission on placements inside agents and apps it has never evaluated. The source does not say whether Shopify told those merchants about the change. It also does not say whether they can exclude the Catalog API while keeping other external platforms.

The landing destination is the second trade-off. Per the changelog, a buyer who clicks a merchant-funded product lands in Shop (shop.com). In our view, brands gain reach through third-party agent surfaces but give up control of where the buyer arrives. That covers the brand's own product page, cross-sells, email capture and on-site analytics. The changelog does not describe how orders from those landings are attributed or reported to merchants, compared with storefront sales.

This also fits a pattern. Shopify is building agent discovery around the Catalog API and UCP, as our coverage of the Global Catalog REST API shutdown describes. Shopify's docs homepage describes an Agents area for building "agentic shopping experiences powered by Shopify merchants, from product discovery to checkout," with a "Build agents with UCP" entry point. Commission is now attached to the discovery step of that stack.

Commission is visible to agent builders; ranking effects are not stated

The tempting headline is that ad spend now decides what AI agents recommend. Shopify's changelog does not say that. It describes who earns commission and which field returns it. It does not describe how search_catalog selects or orders results.

What the changelog does establish is that commission now comes back per product, in the same response developers already read. In our view, that creates an incentive. When an agent or app chooses between comparable products, its developer can see which one pays more. The source does not say whether any developer ranks by commission. It also does not say whether the Promoted Placements beta terms allow it, limit it, or require developers to tell buyers about paid placements.

Commission is now a per-product number that agent builders can read. Shopify has not said it changes ranking, so brands should measure the effect rather than assume one.

For product AI visibility, the practical consequence is that commission becomes one more per-product variable. It sits next to the catalog data signals that already shape agent discovery: titles, structured attributes, variants, price and availability. Tracking which products agents surface inside Shopify's ecosystem may increasingly mean separating organic catalog quality from merchant-funded incentives.

What to do this week

For merchants and brands

  1. Check your Shop Campaigns external-platform setting. Per the changelog, external platforms now include the Catalog API. Confirm whether the setting is on, and decide whether you want funded commission to apply to agent and app surfaces.
  2. Plan for shop.com landings. Clicks on merchant-funded products from search_catalog land in Shop, not on your storefront. Set up a separate reporting view for Shop-attributed orders so you can compare them with storefront sales.
  3. Ask Shopify the questions the changelog leaves open. Ask whether you can exclude the Catalog API on its own, and how those orders will be attributed to you.
  4. Keep working on catalog quality. Nothing in the source suggests commission replaces data quality in discovery. Run an AI-readiness audit of your Shopify catalog, close gaps in product schema for AI search, and make sure pricing fields are clean (see our note on the Catalog API list_price field).
  5. Record an organic baseline now. Measure which products AI engines cite today with the free Shopify SKU Visibility Grader. You can then compare it against later shifts that funded commission may cause.

For developers and agencies on the Catalog API

  • Keep passing your enrolled catalog.catalog_id on every search_catalog call, as the changelog instructs.
  • Send buyers to the variant URL exactly as Shopify returns it. Our read is that attribution probably depends on the unmodified URL. Rewriting it, wrapping it or appending tracking parameters could break that, although the changelog does not say so outright.
  • Remove any hardcoded commission rate from your reporting and read placement.commission.percentage.value for each product.
  • If you are considering ordering results by commission, read the beta terms first and decide how you will disclose it to buyers.

The strategic read

Our interpretation is that Shopify is extending a merchant-paid acquisition program, Shop Campaigns, into AI-agent and app surfaces through the Catalog API. The product name says "placements," but the changelog describes commission earned by developers, not paid positions in results. As described, the model works more like affiliate commission than sponsored listings, though Shopify has not explained how payment works.

Shopify also gains from the arrangement. Third-party agent traffic on merchant-funded products goes to shop.com, Shopify's own buyer-facing destination, rather than to the merchant's domain. Merchants get distribution. Shopify gets the buyer relationship on those clicks. Developers get a per-product revenue signal.

For brands, agent discovery inside Shopify's ecosystem now has two levers: a paid one, funded commission, and an organic one, catalog data quality. The scope is narrow. Per the changelog, earning applies to search_catalog only. AI engines and agents that find products by other routes are outside this program, and they still rely on what your product pages and structured data expose. Our view is that the organic lever remains the one that works across every channel. Brands should treat commission as an optional amplifier inside one surface, not as a replacement for product-level AI visibility work on Shopify.

What Shopify has not said yet

  • Dates. The changelog gives no event date for this change and no start date for the beta.
  • Ranking. The source does not say whether merchant-funded commission affects which products search_catalog returns or the order they appear in.
  • Rates. Neither Shopify's base rate nor any limit on merchant-funded commission is stated.
  • Payment mechanics. The source does not say who pays developers, on what schedule, or under what terms.
  • Beta terms. It is unknown whether developers must disclose paid placements to buyers or are limited in ranking by commission.
  • Merchant consent. The source does not say whether merchants with external platforms on were told about the Catalog API addition, or whether they can opt out of it on its own.
  • Attribution. How orders from shop.com landings are reported to merchants is not described.
  • Availability. No timeline is given for leaving beta or for access beyond the invite-led waitlist.
  • Checkout. The changelog covers search_catalog discovery only. It does not say whether this connects to UCP-based agent checkout.

Frequently asked questions

What is Shopify Promoted Placements?

Per Shopify's developer changelog, Promoted Placements is a beta program. Developer organizations that surface Shopify merchants' products through the Catalog API's search_catalog earn commission. It now includes Shop Campaigns, so merchant-funded commission is added to Shopify's base rate. Access is invite-led, with a waitlist linked from Shopify's docs.

Will funding Shop Campaigns make AI agents recommend my products more often?

Shopify's changelog does not say that commission affects which products search_catalog returns, how it ranks them, or which products agents recommend. It does return a per-product commission rate to developers, which gives them a visible incentive. Whether any developer acts on it, and whether the beta terms allow it, is not stated.

Where do shoppers land when they click a product with merchant-funded commission?

According to the changelog, buyers who click a product with merchant-funded commission land in Shop (shop.com), not on the merchant's own storefront. The changelog does not describe how those orders are attributed or reported to the merchant.

How do I know if my products are now available to Catalog API developers through Shop Campaigns?

The changelog states that merchants running Shop Campaigns with external platforms turned on now count the Catalog API as one of those platforms. If that setting is on, your products' funded commission applies to search_catalog results surfaced by developers in the beta.

Do developers need to change their Catalog API integration?

The changelog says no action is required, because commission comes back in the existing placement.commission.percentage.value field. Developers should keep passing their enrolled catalog.catalog_id, send buyers to the variant URL exactly as returned, and read commission per product instead of assuming one rate.

Ask AI about this

Ask an AI engine how Shopify's Promoted Placements beta and Shop Campaigns change product discovery and commission in agent-built shopping experiences.

Sources

Measure organic visibility first

See which of your Shopify products AI engines already cite